<

Kloster

Brauweiler Benedictine Abbey

Bild eines Klosters - Brauweiler Benedictine Abbey

The Benedictine abbey was founded as a dynastic monastery in 1024 by Ezzo, Count Palatine of Lotharingia, and his wife Matilda, daughter of Emperor Otto II and Theophanu. The most important source for its act of foundation dates back to 1077, according to which a vision of Matilda is said to have determined the location. The present church and the eminent chapter house were built in the 12th century, a period of prosperity for the monastery. In the 18th century, further structural expansions were made. In 1802, the abbey was dissolved under Napoleon.

Icon eines Kalenders für Klosterland-Veranstaltungen

Brauweiler Benedictine Abbey

Ehrenfriedstraße 19

50259 Pulheim

Gründungsjahr

1024

Ordenszugehörigkeit

Benedictines

Site

The abbey grounds are dominated by the abbey church of St. Nicholas and St. Medardus, which in its present form is largely a work of the 12th or early 13th century. At their core the cloister courtyard to the south of the church and the cloister buildings also date from this period. Situated to the west is the late Baroque four-winged prelacy building, whereas adjoining to the south are the former agricultural and manufacturing buildings. The former abbey church has been a parish church since 1808. Parts of the abbey complex served as a penal institution in the 19th and 20th centuries.

Location

Today Brauweiler is a southern part of the town of Pulheim, which in the east borders on Cologne. The abbey is located at the centre of Brauweiler. Geographically, the village is situated on an ice age terrace that slopes down to the east and in a stair-like gradation delimits the Rhine plain near Cologne to the west. The terrain sloping to the east required larger terracing for the construction of the abbey complex, so that the ground level of the abbey buildings decreases in several steps from west to east.

Highlights

The abbey church in Brauweiler ranks among the great Romanesque church buildings in the Rhineland. However, the 12th-century chapter house is particularly outstanding that with its architecture, architectural sculpture and painting is unique in the Cologne area, in fact, it is even unparalleled in the whole of Germany. But not only the abbey buildings themselves offer something unique – throughout the year there are numerous events inviting lovers of music, the fine arts, literature and theatre to the abbey grounds.

Contact

LVR Kulturzentrum Abtei Brauweiler
Ehrenfriedstraße 19
50259 Pulheim

Phone +49 2234 9854240
E-Mail abteiverwaltung@lvr.de
Internet www.abteibrauweiler.lvr.de

Location

Kloster

Benediktinerabtei Brauweiler

Bild eines Klosters - Benediktinerabtei Brauweiler

Die Benediktinerabtei wurde im Jahr 1024 durch Ezzo, den Pfalzgrafen von Lothringen, und seine Frau Mathilde, Tochter Kaiser Ottos II. und Theophanus, als Hauskloster gegründet. Die wichtigste Quelle zum Gründungsakt stammt aus dem Jahr 1077, danach soll eine Vision der Mathilde den Standort bestimmt haben. Die heutige Kirche und der bedeutende Kapitelsaal entstanden im 12. Jahrhundert, einer Blütezeit des Klosters. Im 18. Jahrhundert fanden nochmals bauliche Erweiterungen statt. 1802 wurde das Kloster unter Napoleon aufgehoben.

Icon eines Kalenders für Klosterland-Veranstaltungen

Benediktinerabtei Brauweiler

Ehrenfriedstraße 19

50259 Pulheim

Gründungsjahr

1024

Ordenszugehörigkeit

Benediktiner

Klosteranlage

Die Klosteranlage wird dominiert von der Abteikirche St. Nikolaus und St. Medardus, die in ihrer heutigen Gestalt größtenteils ein Werk des 12. bzw. frühen 13. Jahrhunderts ist. Der südlich der Kirche gelegene Kreuzgang und die Klausurbauten stammen im Kern ebenfalls aus dieser Zeit. Im Westen ist das spätbarocke vierflügelige Prälaturgebäude gelegen, im Süden schließen die ehemaligen Wirtschaftsgebäude an. Die ehemalige Abteikirche ist seit 1808 eine Pfarrkirche. Teile der Klosteranlage fungierten im 19. und 20. Jahrhundert als Strafanstalt.

Lage und Umgebung

Brauweiler ist heute ein Ortsteil im Süden der Stadt Pulheim, die im Osten an Köln angrenzt. Die Abtei befindet sich im Zentrum von Brauweiler. Geographisch liegt der Ort auf dem Gebiet einer eiszeitlichen Terrasse,  die nach Osten abfällt und in treppenförmigen Abstufungen die Rheinebene bei Köln nach Westen hin begrenzt. Das nach Osten abfallende Gelände erforderte beim Bau der Klosteranlage größere Terrassierungen, so dass das Bodenniveau der Klosterbauten von Westen nach Osten zu in mehreren Stufen abnimmt.

Highlights

Die Abteikirche in Brauweiler zählt zu den großen romanischen Kirchenbauten des Rheinlandes. Herausragend aber ist insbesondere der Kapitelsaal aus dem 12. Jahrhundert, der mit seiner Architektur, Bauskulptur und Malerei im Kölner Raum einzigartig ist und auch in ganz Deutschland seinesgleichen sucht. Doch nicht nur die Klosterbauten selber bieten Einzigartiges – das ganze Jahr über laden zahlreiche Veranstaltungen Liebhaber von Musik, bildender Kunst, Literatur und Theater auf das Abteigelände ein.

Kontakt

LVR Kulturzentrum Abtei Brauweiler
Ehrenfriedstraße 19
50259 Pulheim

Telefon +49 2234 9854240
E-Mail abteiverwaltung@lvr.de
Internet www.abteibrauweiler.lvr.de

Lage