<

Kloster

Michaelstein Cistercian Abbey

Bild eines Klosters - Michaelstein Cistercian Abbey

In 1146, Cistercians founded Michaelstein abbey just outside the town of Blankenburg in the Harz region. While the monks initially lead a life of hardship, the abbey later evolved to become economically successful. In 1543, the Counts of Blankenburg dissolved the monastery and founded a monastic school. In 1717, Ludwig Rudolf Duke of Brunswick established a seminary for preachers. From the 19th to well into the 20th century, Michaelstein was merely used economically. Today, Michaelstein is a place of cultural diversity offering nature, music and the abbey’s history. Whether visiting a concert, the museum or one of the numerous events, there are always new and varied facets of the abbey to be discovered.

Icon eines Kalenders für Klosterland-Veranstaltungen

Michaelstein Cistercian Abbey

Michaelstein 15

38889 Blankenburg (Harz)

Gründungsjahr

1146

Ordenszugehörigkeit

Cistercian

Site

Although the Romanesque abbey church no longer exists, the cloister building with its late Romanesque and early Gothic cloistered courtyard and rooms has been preserved. The capitals, corbels and keystones are solely featuring plants, especially Marian ones. The farmyard with its barn, smithy, dairy, carriage shed and stables, although reshaped throughout the centuries, still illustrates the importance of the economic activities. Together with the baroque gatehouse and the abbey walls, the herb and vegetable garden and the fishponds complete the monastery complex.

Location

Michaelstein abbey is situated in a Harz valley, even today still far from the hustle and bustle of the world. With its fishponds, forests and murmuring stream, the monastery is a popular hiking destination in the northern Harz Mountains. The museum events and concerts offer plenty of variety for lovers of culture. Michaelstein is part of the Harz monasteries hiking trail, which runs from Goslar to Quedlinburg, and it equally invites cyclists on the Euroroute R1 to stay for a while.

Highlights

Two abbey gardens with numerous plant treasures are a further attraction. Both were laid out based on the model of medieval plans and records. In the herb garden, protected by the abbey’s sunny south side, around 260 plant varieties thrive, which as remedies are of particular importance. The vegetable garden shows the former variety of plant foods. “Fine” and common vegetables are cultivated there, furthermore cereals and fruits served on the monks’ table, as well as historical apple varieties.

Since 2019, Michaelstein abbey has been exhibiting a new presentation of the Salomon de Caus music machine, which is driven by water wheels.

Contact

Kloster Michaelstein
Michaelstein 15
38889 Blankenburg (Harz)

Phone +49 3944 9030-18
E-Mail simon.sosnitza@kulturstiftung-st.de
Internet www.kloster-michaelstein.de

Location

Kloster

Zisterzienserabtei Michaelstein

Bild eines Klosters - Zisterzienserabtei Michaelstein

1146 gründeten Zisterzienser das Kloster Michaelstein vor den Toren Blankenburgs (Harz). Aus einem anfänglich beschwerlichen Leben entwickelte sich eine wirtschaftlich erfolgreiche Abtei. 1543 lösten die Grafen von Blankenburg das Kloster auf und richteten eine Klosterschule ein. Herzog Ludwig Rudolf richtete 1717 ein Predigerseminar ein. Vom 19. bis weit ins 20. Jh. hatte Michaelstein nur noch wirtschaftlichen Nutzen. Seit 50 Jahren entwickelt sich Michaelstein zu einem Ort kultureller Vielfalt um Natur, Klostergeschichte und Musik. Ob in Konzerten, bei einem Museumsbesuch oder einer der zahlreichen Veranstaltungen finden sich stets neue und bunte Facetten am Kloster.

Icon eines Kalenders für Klosterland-Veranstaltungen

Zisterzienserabtei Michaelstein

Michaelstein 15

38889 Blankenburg (Harz)

Gründungsjahr

1146

Ordenszugehörigkeit

Ziesterzienser

Klosteranlage

Zwar ist die romanische Klosterkirche nicht mehr vorhanden, doch ist das Klausurgebäude mit seinem spätromanisch-frühgotischen Kreuzgang und Räumen erhalten. Kapitelle, Konsolen und Schlusssteine zeigen ausschließlich und insbesondere marianische Pflanzen. Der Wirtschaftshof mit Scheune, Schmiede, Meyerei, Remise und Ställen, zwar über die Jahrhunderte umgestaltet, veranschaulicht noch die Bedeutung der Wirtschaft. Mit dem barockisierten Torhaus, der Klostermauer komplettieren der Kräuter- und Gemüsegarten und die Fischteiche die Klosteranlage.

Lage und Umgebung

Das Kloster Michaelstein liegt noch heute abseits des weltlichen Treibens in einem Harztal. Mit seinen Fischteichen, Wäldern und dem plätschernden Bach ist das Kloster ein beliebtes Wanderziel im Nordharz. Die Museumsveranstaltungen und Konzerte bieten viel Abwechslung für Kulturliebende. Michaelstein liegt am Harzer Klosterwanderweg, der sich von Goslar bis Quedlinburg zieht und lädt ebenso die Radfahrer auf dem R1 zum Verweilen ein.

Highlights

Zwei Klostergärten mit zahlreichen Pflanzenschätzen sind ein weiterer Anziehungspunkt. Beide wurden nach Vorbild mittelalterlicher Pläne und Aufzeichnungen gestaltet. Im Kräutergarten gedeihen etwa 260 Pflanzensorten im Schutz der sonnigen Südseite, sie sind besonders als Heilmittel von Bedeutung. Der Gemüsegarten zeigt die frühere pflanzliche Nahrungsvielfalt. Angebaut sind „feines“ wie gewöhnliches Gemüse, Getreide und Obst der Mönchstafel, ebenso historische Apfelsorten.
Seit 2019 zeigt Michaelstein in einer Neupräsentation die Musikmaschine des Salomon de Caus – ein Unikat durch Wasserräder betrieben, Stiftwalzen gesteuerte Musik und eine bewegliche Nymphenfigur.

Galerie

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Mitglied folgen in Kürze. Schauen Sie wieder vorbei!

Kontakt

Kloster Michaelstein
Michaelstein 15
38889 Blankenburg (Harz)

Telefon +49 3944 9030-18
E-Mail simon.sosnitza@kulturstiftung-st.de
Internet www.kloster-michaelstein.de

Lage